myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
new to LA ! (in fact new to CA or USA :)

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
akift

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 12:28 pm    Post subject: new to LA ! (in fact new to CA or USA :) Reply with quote

Hi, beginning from this August I will be in LA for 2 years for my master degree. (USC-Comp.Sci.)

I am from Turkey and I have been windsurfing for only 5 months and i am really addicted to it. I dont want to be apart from windsurfing when I moved in. (I hope i can handle my courses:)

In turkey i was using an old mistral shredder 2.98-128L and 5.7 m sail.I can get into straps, hook in and out easily, hardly waterstarting, and never tried to jibe:)

I need your advises about where should begin to windsurf first near LA, and should I try to buy my own board&rig at first or should I join to a club or smtg like that where I can rent board and stuff.

I dont think I can handle the waves of ocean for now so should I try the lakes?

As a result,give me a roadmap to follow to improve my windsurfing capabilities.Thanks..

Akif,
jwallace

PostPosted: Tue Jul 30, 2002 6:17 pm    Post subject: RE: new to LA ! (in fact new to CA or USA :) Reply with quote

Hi Akif...