myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Please recommend a board in LA area
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Southwest USA, Hawaii, Mexico
View previous topic :: View next topic  
windsurfsocal

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 2:39 am    Post subject: Please recommend a board in LA area Reply with quote

Hey, Guys, thank you in advance for your advice.

I am a beginner windsurfer, and did about 6 sessions of windsurfing last year. That was all my experiences. Now that I am moving out of my apartment to a house, with plenty of storage space, my first thought was, wow, I can finally buy some gears I wanted so long without being yielded by my wife for storing stuff in the living room....
Anyways, I plan to buy a set of windsurf rig to seriously begin to learn windsurfing. Now I need some of you guys' advice on the board choice. In LA's condition, which board do you guys recommend to a beginner to learn on? I prefer a board which can learn on, and can still be enjoyed when I progress to the intermediate level. I heard Starboard Go is a good choice. And starboard Rio. So for conditions here, which one do you guys recommend if I have to choose between these 2? Or any other choices? My budget would be below 1300$. As for whether go freeride or wave, I have not decided yet. Most possible I'll go freeride. I am not the super crazy kind of guy planning doing those fancy wave tricks. Being able to enjoy the speed and have some real fun is my goal.

Thanks again!
*Matt*

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much do you weigh?