myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
strong off-shore wind.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GlennT

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: strong off-shore wind. Reply with quote

I am a newbie -- started a couple months ago. I was sailing pretty comfortably yesterday in a side 12-mph wind. I saw that storm is coming but I too much enjoyed my new 7.0 sail I just bought Suddenly the wind became off-shore and started blowing very strong -- I could not pull the sail from water. On any attempt wind was dragging me from the beach farther and farther. I sat on my unsinkable big board and was thinking that instead of jibe / tack I have to be practicing waterstart first... I was about to swim but a nice guy on a powerboat pulled me to the beach.

The question is how to waterstart in upwind direction in a strong offshore wind?
isobars

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:00 pm    Post subject: RE: strong off-shore wind. Reply with quote

Even expert sailors should not sail offshore winds unless the downwind shore is an acceptable place to land and youre packing enough food and neoprene to make it there. (It also helps if you speak the language native to that shore.) Stuff breaks. It is also HIGHLY advisable to know what the winds going to do as the day evolves.

For waterstarting instructions, search the archives of this and other windsuffing forums. This ones archives are found by clicking on Forum Search in the column of links at the left side of this page.

Mike \m/
coachg

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2006 9:25 pm    Post subject: RE: strong off-shore wind. Reply with quote

Repeat after me. If the wind is offshore, sail no more.

Coachg
duracell