myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Removing Cams

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bmergen

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2000 1:01 pm    Post subject: Removing Cams Reply with quote

Im new to windsurfing. Ive posted various messages on this board recently having very good luck with helpfull responses so here goes...

I was just given 4 North Infinity sails by an old college professor of mine. Theyre old, but in great shape, perfect for someone at my skill level. There are 2 91s and 2 92s. The sizes are 3.7, 4.3, 5.0, and 5.6, which sizes are which year I dont recall offhand. They all have one cam. I was wondering if anyone has experience with these sails, or similar, who would be able to tell me if I can remove the cams w/o any serious performance drawbacks. I suppose I should give you a bit of my background. I sail in the gorge exclusively. I am getting comfortable with the straps and harness. I can waterstart proficiently with my only other sail, a, 98 NP Combat 4.5. I havent actually used any of my new ones yet. Bump and jump sailing is what I am most interested in. This should be enough info.
Thanks,
Ben
spyder

PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2000 5:16 pm    Post subject: RE: Removing Cams Reply with quote

I can tell you about these sails, I used to have a bunch of Infinitys. They are older entry level slalom sails. That doesnt mean they wont work, but its an older design. They are a bit heavy, but bomb proof.

However the plastic camber breaks, and MAYBE you can find replacements. Hopefully your camber is not broken.

These sails wont work well without the cam.