myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Fin Size?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
bmergen

PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2000 8:00 am    Post subject: Fin Size? Reply with quote

How do I tell if my fin is to large for the sail I am using? What does it feel like? Im new to the sport, still getting comfortable with hooking in and being in the straps. Any advice is appreciated.

Ben
spyder

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2000 12:07 pm    Post subject: RE: Fin Size? Reply with quote

Fin selection is based on a number of things, such as: sail size, board type & size, water condition (chop, wave, f lat), and you!

Generally speaking, the fin size is proportional to the sail/board size, for 2 reasons - you need more force to get the board planing, and to prevent the board from spinning out. But is
still affected by other parameters, like your weight, style of sailing, and direction of water current.