myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
heli tack advice
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
snapster

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:50 pm    Post subject: heli tack advice Reply with quote

I'm a beginner, and I was fooling around today trying to heli-tack, as it doesn't look super hard (to my fairly untrained eye). The problem I was having was that when I swing the rig through the wind, leaning to windward, the wind pretty immediately just blows the rig into me and knocks me backward off the board.
What am I missing? How do I avoid being shoved back by the sail pointing into the wind? Do I need to use my body weight to hold it down?
coachg

PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2016 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's about rig control. In a Heli tack you lean the rig back to turn into & through the wind, then you have to shut the rig off (luff the sail) while you slice the rig(luffing) into the wind. Only after the mast has gone from leaning downwind behind you to leaning upwind in front of you do you start to backwind the sail. It sounds like you are making the classic mistake of trying to force the clew through the wind from the downwind position without shutting off the power in the sail.

Coachg
dllee

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, practice backwinding the sail, before you attempt the heli move.
You need to lean against the wind, but you also need to learn to sheet the clew downwind, into your body, to control sailing backwinded. Then, when you get balanced, you rotate into the heli, always keeping your posture and never leaning to the side.
wynsurfer