myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Waist harness painful on the abdomen
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ittiandro

PostPosted: Sun Sep 18, 2016 3:10 pm    Post subject: Waist harness painful on the abdomen Reply with quote

I’m sure I ‘m going against windsurfing’s Holy Scriptures, but please bear with me.
I have been windsurfing for quite a few years , always trusting my arms when holding the boom. Never used a harness and I always uphaul. Kind of Flintstone , but I still enjoy windsurfing..

Lately, out of curiosity and just in case winds pick up beyond my arms strength , I finally decided to try a harness, a waist harness to be precise.

It turned out to be such a pain ( not exactly in the neck, much below..) that I went back to shore and threw it back in the car, after which I had a perfect sailing day, with the usual winds I’m accustomed to ( 15-18 knts, perhaps more with gusts).

Leaving aside the first obvious reason, my inexperience with the harness, which catapulted me a few times, even though I read the instructions from a variety of web sites, I think the more serious problem is an anatomical one: I have some belly ( but then my size, 38, is a far cry from being overweight , let alone obese) and when I get back onto the board after falling and begin standing up from the crouched position in order to uphaul, the harness cuts badly into my abdomen, which is not only very uncomfortable, but also kind of painful.

Usually, without the harness, the transition from the crouched position to standing and uphauling is easy, fast and painless, as it should be, but with the harness I feel in a painful straight jacket.