myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Difficulty going downwind
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kalaniwavo

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:16 am    Post subject: Difficulty going downwind Reply with quote

This may be an unusual question. I've searched online and am really having trouble finding an answer and it may not be entirely possible for someone to answer on here without actually seeing my technique, so that's the disclaimer

I am having a VERY hard time going downwind on a broad reach. I'm new to sport and riding a Kona One with Ezzy Zephyr 7.4 I'm getting comfortable in the harness and starting to plane on reaches and have no problem heading upwind with the centerboard up. At the end of the day though when it's time to head back downwind I am getting worked! Basically, I turn downwind on a broad reach and let the sail out some.. I'm cruising along in the harness but in this position I don't feel like I have the ability to depower the sail so inevitably a gust will come along and send me catapulting. What am I missing? Harness line position? Foot position?

When I trim the sail on a reach I have feel like I have a good feel for the power with the harness line centered so it just takes a little "opening or closing of the door" to adjust but on a broad reach the door is wide open and I can't open it anymore. Ideas thoughts suggestions? Or if anyone could recommend some good books or dvds? Otherwise I'm stoked on windsurfing!! Thanks!

Nick
isobars

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:20 pm    Post subject: Re: Difficulty going downwind Reply with quote

kalaniwavo wrote: