myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Looking for fellow windsurfers near New Haven, CT:

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
peter.grunawalt

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:11 pm    Post subject: Looking for fellow windsurfers near New Haven, CT: Reply with quote

Though I'm not yet great at it, I'm hopelessly in love with Windsurfing and am looking for people to head out with. I'm told it's much safer to pair up, and also tends to be more enjoyable/productive.

If it matters, I'm a 20-something heading to DC for grad school in the fall. I just got the hang of doing water starts, can jibe (somewhat awkwardly I'll admit), but have no issues getting around. I was a sailing instructor for a few years in college, and am a certified lifeguard and wilderness first responder.

I live in Hamden, Connecticut and would commute up to 1-2hrs, unless it's a special outing on the weekend (so pretty much staying in CT). Let me now if you're interested! Email me: peter.grunawalt@gmail.com

Thanks everyone and take care,

Peter
justall

PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't speak for the CT locations (I'm sure you'll get some responses here), but if you can, bring your equipment to DC in the Fall, too. There is a good group of folks who sail Potomac river and Chesapeake Bay sites ... with Fall being some of the best wind ... Provided you have a wetsuit. Be sure to post back when you get to DC. Now, I'll leave it back to the new england crew.
joethewindsufa

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as i wrote in my e-mail, pls keep us informed here of the CT sites near you