myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Rig recommendations
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LakeSurf

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 8:59 am    Post subject: Rig recommendations Reply with quote

I'm going to check out some used gear tomorrow at a windsurfing shop. Im a beginner and sail about once a month in 8-10 mph winds with stronger gusts. I've been learning on a borrowed Motion HiFLy, 5.5 cambered sail and other old gear. I have a Malibu Mistral 24" wide board, which is a lot less stable but I think I'll get the hang of it with some practice and I may prefer it in the light winds.

What would you recommend for rig options? Ideally I'd like two non cambered sails, carbon 2 piece mast, boom and mast extension. Not sure what size sails, what should I look for and what should I spend the most on?
techno900

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much do you weigh? It's a factor on board and sail selection. As I recall, there were a couple of different Malibu's. The earlier one (late 80's) was about 175 liters and narrow by today's standards. Pretty tippy for a beginner, but doable, as long as you don't mind climbing on and uphauling pretty often.

Sail wise, something around 6.0 or 6.5 m is good, WITHOUT cambers, and as a beginner sail, something used and less than 10 years old should be fine. A lot depends on your finances. A new sail is also fine since you could get years of use if you have the money. A carbon mast is good (doesn't need to be 100%), but a carbon boom may be overkill (cost wise) at your level.