myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
JP FSW 111 Insane rant.
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dcoombes

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2015 3:21 pm    Post subject: JP FSW 111 Insane rant. Reply with quote

About me:
I sail in SF bay (3rd ave mainly). I weigh 240 lbs and I'm 6'2". I'm 43 years old and I've been sailing for over 15 years. I'm a lazy mediocre sailor, I'm certainly no athlete, I like to tear up and down, do some jumps, hit some gybes, I guess I'm pretty much a typical bump and jump sailor. I sail 2 or 3 times a week in the season.

Conditions:
Typical conditions are 18..26 mph winds, 2 foot wind chop on the inside, 6 foot rolling swell on the outside. Its perfect for bump and jump style sailing for nearly 6 months of the year in good seasons.

JP FSW111
I got this to replace a ~2008 FSW109. I use this in conditions from 18 up to 40... my long time every day sail was a 5.8 wave panther, but my 5.2 and 6.2 Prydes get some use too. I bought this board full retail (well north of 2 grand) sight unseen from a local retailer (supporting my local stores) on the assumption it would sail in a similar manner to its predecessor. Boy was I wrong.

The old board was a little slow on its top end and seemed to lack speed on exiting gybes, but otherwise was a great board to sail, it always felt safe and predictable and was very loose which was fun on the big swell. So much so that I stopped using my 100l(f2 max2air) board entirely.