myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Tie On Boom Not Attaching
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
reid.zimmerman

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 1:36 pm    Post subject: Tie On Boom Not Attaching Reply with quote

Hey guys! I just bought my vintage 1980's windsurfer for about $100 and I'm ready to take on the high seas! Cool

Anyways, I'm COMPLETELY new to this and so I have some of you more veteran guys on here are gonna have to help me out here.

Like I said, I just bought a old, used windsurfing kit from a guy just so I can experiment and get my feet wet in the sport. A problem I've encountered is that when tieing on the boom to the mast (yes, those still exist), the boom will NOT stay put when I tie it on. I tried windsurfing the other day and the entire time my boom would slide up and down the mast.

So my question is, is there a way that I could jerry-rig my boom so that it has a clamp on it? I've tried tieing the boom on every way and it will just not stay put.

Thanks and I look forward to posting here more often!
swchandler

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the days of tie-on booms, there were many different configurations based on the fact that every brand designed their own front end. So, to develop a reasonable starting point, a photo of your boom front end would be the call.