myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Best gear for Neds
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Madsci3#

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:02 pm    Post subject: Best gear for Neds Reply with quote

I have been windsurfing for several years mostly around Boston (Pleasure Bay and Boston Harbor). The gear I have is fairly large: 148L Techno, 7.5 and 8.5 Retros. The gear worked well for me (6'4" 230lb) in the up and down conditions around Boston. We just moved into a house off the beach at Neds, and this will be the spot I mostly ride from now on. Went out today and got ass handed to me. I didn't feel overpowered, but it was the massive chop and waves that made the ride uncontrollable. Sheeting in led to speeds that inevitatably resulted in crashing, especially going out against the waves. For anyone familliar with the spot, what two- board combination would offer the best slalom type/bump and jump performance covering the conditions commonly found there?..considering my size, weight and the large chop/waves. Thanks.
SuzieQ

PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2013 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome! The western side of Buzzrad's Bau gets some great thermals and in sunny, dry conditions can be the best sailing around.
If I windsurf would ever get the meter back up and running, you would have a better idea of wind conditions! However, the wind inside is often much less than wind 1/4 mile out, so looking at the West Island buoy and B. Bay buoy, or if Jan is out first, judging from that.
High tide at Neds is probably the worst condition for chop, so I am sure you had your hands full. It was more like 5.0 conditions today!