myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Beginner board recommendations - 215lbs
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
lunchbox

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:32 pm    Post subject: Beginner board recommendations - 215lbs Reply with quote

Hi,

This is my first post and I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to windsurfing.

I currently surf, SUP and kitesurf and thought I'd try windsurfing. My buddy was selling his gear so I thought this would be as good of a time as any.

Unfortunately, I think most of the stuff is circa 80-90's. The board is a Fantatic Lite BAT (160L I think). One sail is a 6.3 Neil Pryde. The other one is a 5.4, not sure what manufactor.

I'm 6'4" and weigh about 215lbs.

...so my buddy and I went to a lake last weekend (wind was blowing anywhere from 5-15mph). I spend about 5 hours trying to get up on the board and uphaul the sail....but kept falling down before I could position the mast and go. I think I had one ride that lasted about 10ft. I had heard windsurfing was hard, but I didn't think I wouldn't be able to go at all! I like to think I'm pretty coordinated Smile

I did some research and I think that board is definitely too small for me. If memory serves correct, it's about 10'6" long, 25.5 inches wide and 5-6in thick.

I am thinking about purchasing a JP Funster 205 (2012 model) but am worried that it might not have enough volume for me. I'm also concerned about the length, being that it's not even 7ft long. At the same time though, I don't want to outgrow this board too quickly. I want the stability for the uphaul but don't want it to be a slug neither. I'd like to be able to plan and jibe on it eventually.