myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
beginner questions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Windsurfing Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jgroden

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:27 pm    Post subject: beginner questions Reply with quote

Hi! I'm a beginner, been out maybe 7-8 times, live in New England. A couple of questions...
I've noticed that every time a significant gust comes up I can't hold the sail without being blown over! Is it my positioning on the board? Maybe I'm not leaning back enough? I'm ok with a 5-10 mph breeze. More than that and I struggle.

Using a 5.5m sail and 203ml volume board.

Also it seems the board wants to point upwind frequently and I get too far into the wind without being able to go where I want.

Any suggestions welcome!
tyler4bu

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

First off, your board should be between 900 and 100 times larger!

On a more serious note, to keep yourself from rounding upwind just "bear into the wind" by moving both hands in front of you to aim back downwind. When the gusts come that have been blowing you over, sheet out (let go with the back hand if you have to), and then gradually bring the power back in, without seeing it its hard to figure out exactly why you're failing.
DanWeiss

PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote