myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Where do you like to sail?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Northwest USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ferry

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:41 am    Post subject: Where do you like to sail? Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am new to Hood River. I love it. I am from Sanfran, but anyway's where do you like to sail? I have a Naish 80 liter Wave brand new. Some man said maybe Doug's beach?

Thanks,

Ferry
jesusjones

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Tri Cities area is pretty good
windfind

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 10:26 am    Post subject: Gorge sailing places. Reply with quote

You can find brief descriptions of all the major sailing sites by going to any sites wind graph page and clicking on the Local info. link. There is also a map showing the major features. All of this info. is somewhat dated but still useful. See sample below...

Here is my perspective regarding favorite Gorge sites as a former Bay Area sailor and the author of the WindFinder: Bay Area windsurfing guide book.

In the corridor area near Hood River my favorite is the Hatch (Fish Hatchery) on the WA side of the river. Strong wind and steep swell right at the launch almost mid river then Bay Area type chop. Head a bit east for smoother swell and lighter wind. Swell City is basically the same buy you have to pay.