myiW Current Conditions and Forecasts Community Forums Buy and Sell Services

Hi guest · myAccount · Log in
 SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   RegisterRegister 
Need recommendation on equipment/rental shop near Avon, NC
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    iWindsurf Community Forum Index -> Eastern and Central USA & Canada
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ttreat

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Need recommendation on equipment/rental shop near Avon, NC Reply with quote

Hi all,
I will be vacationing in Avon from 5/18-5/24 and I'm looking to do some windsurfing. It has been a few years since I last sailed so I am looking for a recommendation on good equipment to ask for at a local rental shop. I have been windsurfing for about 17 years but I don't get out very frenquently, even less frequent in the last few years. I used a GO board the last time I rented equipment from a shop in Hatteras and I liked it a lot. I can jibe, tack, waterstart, etc but my technique is far from refined. I do have a '98 Seatrend that is about 120 liters but I don't want to haul my older equipment with me.

I also would like some recommendations on the best rental shops near Avon as I have forgotten which one I used last. I don't really care if they have a launch as I probably will be sailing out of Canadian Hole anyway.

Thanks in advance for the recommendations.
mewindsurf

PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ocean Air has a huge rental fleet. Just tell them what your level is and they'll hook you up with some brand new 2009 rental gear that will work good for you. They have every board in the store for demo, so I'm sure you'll get get exactly what you need. They're located in the north Avon.

Here's their website:

www.oceanairsports.com

Happy sailing,

Mike Burns
dsz